Since 2010 annual conferences are being held in October of each year, at the campus of the State University of New York, Old Westbury located on Long Island region oF New York State, in a suburb of New York City. In 2019 the conference was held at the Partition Center Office in Jamaica neighborhood of New York City, close to subway and public transportation.

Announcement of the conference and invitation to present papers go out via our Spring Newsletter, Facebook and emails.

A typical announcement looks like this:

Please join Partition Center Conference


To be held on Saturday, October…… at ……… New York


Topics covered in Partition Center Conference:  Partition studies; Indian Partition, past and present; Partition and aftermath; other partitions in Asia, Africa, Europe and more, Reconciliation and forgiveness; Unity; Identity; History; Colonial borders; Narratives of refugees, survivors and protectors; First person account; Minority issues in divided lands; Effects of displaced peoples on host population; Indigenous peoples, their language, culture and religion; Longing for home; Nationalism; Extremism; Religion; Tolerance and intolerance; Art and music influencing politics.


If you are interested in presenting a paper, please send an abstract by September 15…


Conference Date: Saturday, October……. Time: 9:00 AM – 12:30 PM


Here are some of the Partition Center Conferences:


2010 Conference:

Some of the Speakers included, Prof. Dr. Jong Pil Lee, Mr. Pratip Dasgupta, Dr. Judith Walsh, Dr. Nuran Nabi, Dr. Shefali S. Dastidar, Prof. Dr. Syed Abu Hasnath, Prof. Sachi G. Dastidar, Ms. Laura Healey, Ms. Linda Reenie, Dr. Sushila Gidwani and many more.

2011 Conference:

Some of the presenters included, Mr. Arish Shani, Mr. Narain Kataria, Mr. Khaledur Rahman Shakil of Bangladesh, Prof. Dr. Caroline Sawyer, Mr. Arvind Vora. Mr. Samir Kalra, Esq., Dr. Aravind Chandrakantan, Professor Chitta Mondol, Dr. Jong Pil Lee, Mr. Farhan Imtiaz, Ms. Ronghua Guan, Mr. Shadeed Stephen, Ms. Lydia Coleman

2012 Conference:

Some of the presenters were, including performing artists, Ms. Reshmi Koul of Boston, Dr. Thomas Lilly, Mr. Shuvo Dastidar & Shadeed Stephen of New York, Prof. Jill Hamberg, SUNY Empire State, Dr. Jagat Motwani, NY, Mr. Ramen Nandi, NJ, Mr. Pratip Dasgupta, NYC,  Journalist Mr. Sanjeev Chowdhury of Bangladesh, Dr. Sukrita Paul Kumar of India, Dr. Habibe Rahim, Mrs. Subhra Goswami, NYC, Ms. Sweta Goswami, NYC, and Professor Dr. Perwaiz Morewedge of NYC.

2013 Conference:

Some of the presenters, including performing artists, were Mr. Pabitra Choudhury, Dr. M.L. Langlie, Dean Dr. Barbara Hillery, Professor Dr. Becke Kalmans, Vice President Len Davis, Mr. Mahmoud Reza Ebrahimi, of Iran & Prof. Ali Reza Ebrahimi, NY, Ms. Alexandra Mercurio, Ms. Amamda Tersigni, Prof. Sachi G. Dastidar and Shuvo Dastidar,  Prof. Caroline Sawyer and Prof. Sandeep Singh, Prof. Chitta Ranjan Mondol of Bangladesh,  Ms. Nivea Jackson, Mr. Ashok Karmaker, Esq, Mr. Priyotosh Dey, Mr. Pratip Dsgupta, Mrs. Aparna Sarkar, Ms. Sweta Goswami and Mrs. Shubhra Goswami etc..

2014 Conference:

Some of the presenters included Mr. Mathew Reiss, Mr. Mathew Fisher, Mr. Pratip Dasgupta, Mr. Khurshidul Islam, Prof. Dr. Sachi G. Dastidar, Dean Dr. Barbara Hillery, Mr. Shuvo G. Dastidar.

2015 Conference:

Some of the presenters included Prof. Dr. Arvin Ghosh, Dr. Banani Nandi, Prof. Dr. Caroline Sawyer, Mr. Pratip Dasgupta, Prof. Dr. Anish Gupta of Delhi, India, Mr. Youngsoo Kong of Korea and India, and Prof. Dr. Sachi G. Dastidar

2016 Conference:

Conference speakers included Dr. Rudra Takuldar of Texas, Mr. Mathias Rozario, Dr. Alireza Ebrahimi, Dr. Edislav Manetovic, Dr. Shefali S. Dastidar, Mr. Ramen Nandi, and Mr. Usama Shaikh

2017 Conference:

Some the speakers included Dr. Jagan Pahuja, Dr. Larry Krause, journalist Mr. Sitangshu Guha, Mr. Pradip Dasgupta, journalist Hasan Ferdous, Dr. Shefali S. Dastidar, Professor Dr. Alireza Ebrahimi and Mr. Ramen Nandi, and Prof. Dr. Caroline Sawyer.

2018 Conference:

Some of the presenters included Dr. Kumar Kanti Das of Assam, India; Mrs. Apala Egan of California, Ms. Laura Healey, Ms. Linda Rennie, Dr. Bijoy Roy & Mrs. Aparna Roy, both of Assam and Plattsburgh, U.S.A., Dr. Dilip Nath, and Professor Edi Manetovic.

2019 Conference:

Presenters included Dr. Partha Das, Mr. Khurshedul Islam, Mr. Shuvo Roy, Dr. Alireza Ebrahimi and New York City Councilman Hon. Barry Gordonchik.